Potty Training Blues

This month has been ridiculous so far…I keep adding to my list of things to do.  So, I have two blogs that are suffering, I’m doing NaBloPloMo, NaNoWriMo, dealing with a Sims2 addiction, taking care of a clingy 8 month old, potty training a reluctant 3 year old whilst working on his speech therapy homework, trying to get information from the council on when I can move and spending waaaaay too much time asleep.  Let’s just say I’m not doing a great job…you should see the state of my sitting room, I’d post a picture but I’m too ashamed 🙂

Yes, my son is 3 and he still isn’t potty trained, I’m a bad mother, I know.  He was too young before I got pregnant before, I didn’t have the energy while I was pregnant and  I didn’t want to take on the whole potty training fiasco while I was breastfeeding so now, only now have I finally got around to it.

I don’t use the word fiasco lightly.  My son is seriously attached to his nappies.  I’ve half heartedly attempted to potty train a couple of times and it always ended up in hysterics.  My son is quite independent, he likes things to happen a certain way.  He walks into the house, strips off to his nappy, occasionally puts on a pair of spiderman wellies and a thomas the tank engine hat and that’s it, that’s what makes him comfortable.  Any time I’ve tried to replace the nappy with pants, he has freaked out and I mean FREAKED out and I’ve been afraid he’ll get some sort of lifetime trauma – yes, it was my mother that did it, she forced those training pants on me now the nightmares will never stop – so I haven’t pushed it.  The other day, I decided it was time and apparently so did he because he didn’t bat an eyelid and has taken up the potty training challenge. 

It’s going quite well, in some ways, but I think it might take him a while to perfect his skills and how the hell do you get little kids to go from the potty to the actual toilet anyway? 

Leave a Reply

