Idiot Technophobe? Idiot Full-Stop

I’m a bit late getting my blogs done today because I accidently made a writing group on bebo – but more about that later.  I made this blog on WordPress because I was considering moving my other blog over here but I wanted to try things out over in this town first.  I’m getting a bit fond of this blog because I can ramble whenever I want but I haven’t quite got the hang of wordpress yet.

I don’t know if I’m just stupid or what but I don’t seem to be able to do anything with this blog.  In fact, I was under the apparently wrong impression that you couldn’t put your favourite blogs into your sidebar.  IDIOT!!  So, somehow today I figured it out kinda and tested it.  I only have two blogs in there at the moment but go looky see 🙂

Is there anything else I should have there that I don’t?  I think blogspot is the only place for me, it’s much simpler over there.  You should have seen the trouble I had trying to put a custom domain on my blog over there.  I very nearly cried in frustration…that’s not really saying anything, I tend to cry in frustration over everything.  When I was a kid, it was because I couldn’t put the dresses on my barbies, now it’s cos I can’t put the dresses on my baby – seriously, she suddenly seems to have gone up a size in the last few days, it’s a wee bit freaky…

Anyway, back to the time I’ve been wasting all day.  Have you ever gone to search for something on the net and ended up looking for something completely different?  I do that all the time, I wasted a good portion of the day doing that, I don’t know why I keep getting sidetracked all the time.  I manage to fluther my way around life in various directions. 

For the record, I don’t know if that’s how fluther is spelt or if fluther is in fact an actual word.  It’s pronounced flew-ther and it means to do what I do everyday, ponce around without getting things done and not sticking with one task, get easily possessed by some other vague notion and wander off.  Kinda.  Now you know.

Anyway, I have another blog for writers, particularly those that use the social networking site, bebo.  I like leaving my link on the writing groups over there so that people know to leave links to their writing on my blog.  But I don’t like using my personal profile to do that.  I don’t know why, I just don’t.  So I decided to make a writing group called Bebo Author Reviews because when you leave a comment you can use your own profile, your author pages or any group pages you may have made.  So I wanted a group page I could leave comments with the link in it.

If I’ve lost you, I apologise, profusely.

I could have used my author pages, but I don’t like my author pages too much, I had links of them on my blog but I wasn’t really comfortable with people reading them.  I’m not exactly a good writer to be honest.  So a plain group page was my perfect solution.  I could leave comments with a name that said bebo author specifically for my blog, bebo author.  How cute was that?

I didn’t even have a profile skin on this thing, I had no profile pic, I had only made it for like 5minutes when all of a sudden, it had four members.  Um…okaaaay.  So I thought, well maybe I’ll add a skin and a profile picture of a book or something and I’ll leave a link on the page for my blog.  So I did and suddenly there were ten members.  Riiiiight.

Oops came to mind.  Anyway, (I say anyway waaaaay too much) I decided to just go with it and make it a little fancy and ended up promising to help edit people’s work and stupid things like that.  It seemed like a great idea at the time and I’m happy to do it but then I remembered I’m supposed to be potty training, doing NaNoWriMo, deal with a teething baby, etc, etc, etc.  Plus, I think I may have put someone out because a comment was left saying the page was a bit like a different writing group.   So basically, I’m many flavours of idiot today or, as I like to say, a fecking eejit.

 Warning!Warning!Warning!

I’m thinking about talking about my birthing experiences tomorrow, blame Cardiogirl – not me! 😛

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    cardiogirl said,

    Oh, you are too much! I can’t wait to read tomorrow’s post. Hey what do you need to know about WordPress. My site is through WordPress and I haven’t had too many problems. Let me know what you would like to do and maybe I can help you out.

    Thanks so much for the link love!

  2. 2

    clairec23 said,

    I don’t really know. It’s a free account so I thought you couldn’t do anything good with that. Know of anything cool? I’m very vague I know…I just don’t really know what I can do with it. I was quite happy with it when I thought I couldn’t do anything at all so I’m probably just being greedy now 🙂

  3. 3

    antibarbie said,

    I’d stay away from wordpress.com blogs, imo. You can’t use anything that runs javascripts with it and that becomes a real pain in the butt.

  4. 4

    clairec23 said,

    Really?? Ah, damnit, a couple of people said that it’s better on wordpress than blogger – what’s the alternative?

  5. 5

    Yankeechick said,

    OMG!! I am on your Blog Roll!! Honored, am I! Me and that Bad Ass Cardiogirl….too cool!

    I really can relate to your fluthering problem. I do it all the live long time! Which is why I just don’t know how on earth I’ll accomplish anything at all when I go back to work!

    As for Word Press, I really like it but I have never used Blogger. I came to WP from DiaryLand, which became a bit of a nightmare a few months ago. A lot of people jumped that ship. Once I found my way around, I liked WP a whole lot better, especially because they have FAQs and info on everything! DLand was very vague, plus over there it was SO much HTML. Not so at WP and linking is easier, etc. I was wondering if the Java thing would be a problem, but it’s never been an issue for me…not sure what the deal is on that. It’s pretty much whatever a person gets accustomed to I guess.

    That’s my 2 cents for the day! Have a good one!!

  6. 6

    clairec23 said,

    I’ve never heard of diaryland. I haven’t heard of much 🙂

    I’m still figuring out the blogroll, I can’t find the bit I was on yesterday to add a link to it. Ah, I’ll figure it out…some day 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

