Random Ranting, Rarr

I’m not feeling well so I’m extra value cranky today 🙂 

 First of all, I’m disappointed in someone.  Now I’ve said it, I feel slightly better and can move on from it.  I have said before that I have high expectations of people so I shouldn’t really be surprised that I get disappointed so easily.  Apparently it’s too much to expect that people will be honest about how they feel about you and instead snipe at you from a distance.  Ah well.  I’ve tied it up in a neat little box and thrown it away.  Disappointment gone…

 Secondly, I’m a bit surprised at how many other people are cranky today.  I’m always cranky.  Everyone knows that but it seems like most of the world is annoyed at something this week.  I’m beginning to wonder if it’s the time of year.  November is a dreary month, the only thing that seems to happen is constant reminders of how many days it is to Christmas and how I should really be saving by now.  I wouldn’t be surprised if it was keeping people down in the dumps.

 Thirdly, I’m a bit annoyed on someone else’s behalf.  Stupid Dublin County Council and their ridiculous lack of competent staff.  I should be annoyed on my own behalf too but it always feels better to be indignant for someone else.  Housing over here is ridiculously expensive, renting is ridiculously expensive, childcare is ridiculously expensive, the housing list is ridiculously inadequate, there are a lot of empty homes and a lot of people living in hellholes with their children.  If people waited until the housing “crisis” dissipated, they would never have children.  Anyway my point is, people are getting trapped into taking social welfare payments.  Families can’t afford to buy their own home, can’t afford to rent and pay childcare so they can’t work and are left relying on the housing authorities.  Others who were lucky enough to get mortgages are now stuck in too small homes with expanding families that cannot sell their home because of the change in the market.  This is the general reason why I’m pissed off but it’s a constant one.  The exact details depend on exactly who it is I’m annoyed for 🙂

Ooh, CSI is on, I’m cheered up now, well not really but I’m skipping the rest of my rant because I’m boring myself.  I’m going to eat lots of chocolate and do nothing else and by tomorrow I should be out of this wee funk I’m in.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    melissa said,

    i’m always cranky, too. glad to know that i’m not the only one…
    hey…i have an invite for you to a really great place called cr8buzz. if you don’t belong already and you’d like the invite…i’ll sign you up. let me know.
    have a good one!

  2. 2

    clairec23 said,

    No, there are many of us cranky birds 🙂

    I’m not there, sure I’ll join, thanks.

  3. 3

    Kate said,

    We have the same housing problems in the UK. I live in the north of England which has historically been quite a cheap place to live, but even here house prices and rents have risen to ridiculous levels. I feel so sorry for young couples who are trying to make a life together and start a family because most just can’t afford to do so. Or they do, and then find themselves working stupidly long hours just to keep a roof over their heads.

  4. 4

    clairec23 said,

    The value is starting to go down again so lots of people are being left with crazy mortgages and pretty worthless homes in comparison.

    And agreed on the mad working hours – what’s the point in owning a home if you have to work so much that you never get to enjoy it.

  5. 5

    Ugh, it’s a nightmare isn’t it? Just now I am earning about the national average (which is very good for a 23-year old) and Baddie is earning a plumber’s wage (which is nearly double what I earn) and we can just about afford a one-bedroom flat. WTF? It takes 3 x the national average salary to afford a one-bedroom place?! How can that possibly be right?

    Having said that, we are lucky. At least we’re in that position. Single people don’t have a hope in hell of buying property unless they’re minted.

    (By the way, I’m only referring to legitimate earnings here, because we’re not getting a mortgage until the illegitimate earning stops…)

  6. 6

    clairec23 said,

    I wish I was a freaking plumber 🙂 One bedroom flat here is around 800-1000euro a month and that isn’t for anywhere big or decent. I know of people who have gotten huge mortgages for tiny houses and now that they have started a family can’t sell their house to move into a bigger place because it isn’t worth as much. So they can’t clear off their first mortgage. But at least they have a home of their own – although the repayments must be scary…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

