My Three Year Old’s Lickle Gang

Going to get this done while the kids are distracted.  If they see me, they will attack the laptop…

 My son did his last speech therapy session today, well, for now that is.  He’s never actually had any “proper” speech therapy.  He’s been part of a Talk Time group for the last 8 weeks with four other kids.  They’re his little gang, they’re so sweet.   Not one of them can understand each other but they still all go straight to the toys when they see each other and play together.  My kid shows them how to build blocks and when they should knock them over.  He’s very specific on the timing of the destruction…The girls try and make him play with dolls but he gives them this “Are you kidding me?” look and they go back to the blocks again.  🙂

But to be honest the therapy didn’t help, except that he had company.  They still haven’t given me anything to do with him at home that I wasn’t doing already.  In some areas, he’s a lot better than the other kids but that’s only because I’ve been at home with him every day working on it.   Not everyone gets to do that.

There an odd group of kids but I hope they get put in a group together again.  He had really started coming out of his shell.  I hadn’t realized how shy he was until we went to the group.  He’s even shy with his Daddy sometimes.   He’ll start singing and dancing then realize that someone other than me is in the room and stop and cover his face.  It’s a shame because everyone else is missing out, he has the funniest little bootie dance ever 🙂

He’s gotten a bit more confident, he even started taking part in some of the songs at his group but all three of the boys are in the background of the two girls quite a bit.  The three boys are shy, it’s so strange.  The girls are always first to do anything.  One of the girls is so intelligent, it’s unreal.  But, she’s….wild.  It’s very hard to keep her attention on anything for long but when she does she can do exactly what they ask straight away, much faster than the others.  I get the feeling she’s playing up for her Mammy’s sake rather than anything else.  She definitely understands everything we say, I think she’s a handful but she would probably make the most interesting playmate for my kids 🙂

 The second little girl is sweet and sort of motherly.  She’s the one who puts dolls to bed and things like that.  She’s the little Mammy of the group.  She likes to do what the others are doing too though.

 One of the little boys isn’t going to get anything out of it because his mother hates the group even more than I do.  Seriously, I thought I was going to flip out at the first session because it was such a waste of time and I am desperate to help my son before he goes to primary school.  That boy’s mother obviously thinks the same thing and her son is so shy that he finds it hard to take it on himself to get involved.

The last little boy is my little pet.  He is much taller than my son but he is the most gentle 3 year old I have ever come across.  He’s so quiet, he doesn’t try to talk much but he’s always smiling and shyly taking his turn.  My kid always tries to cut in front of him, he’s such a pushy bully!

Anyway, that’s the little gang.  They make me want to be a speech therapist when I grow up 🙂  To be honest, I’d forgotten how much I love working with kids that aren’t my own, even crazy three year olds!

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    melissa said,

    they are always easier when they aren’t yours! you don’t have as much of a vested interest.
    don’t give up on your personal blog…it happens to be really good!
    take care…cheer up…

  2. 2

    clairec23 said,

    I suppose they are. I find myself having a lot of patience with the other kids when their own parents are getting frustrated. It’s just a small chunk of my time when they have to put up with them full time.

    My sort of sister in law looks at me like I’m insane when I look like I’m finding my son hard to deal with, I suppose it’s the same thing. It’s not even that he’s hard to deal with but sometimes when you’re balancing your time between a couple of kids, whatever one does sort of affects the other too.

  3. 3

    Aw how lovely! Reading this really made me miss my nannying days!

  4. 4

    clairec23 said,

    Like supernanny? jk 🙂 We don’t use that term over here, it always reminds me of Mary Poppins so I have a bit of a warped vision of what a nanny is!

  5. 5

    Oh… what do you call nannies then?

  6. 6

    clairec23 said,

    I suppose child minders or something like that…do nannies live in or just visit and babysit? I always thought that they lived with a family like an aupair so I’m not really sure…

  7. 7

    Heidi said,

    Aren’t the kids a grand adventure? I’ve got two of my own that keep me hoppin! Kudos to you for being so involved with your sons speech. I’m a speech therapist and have a speech therapy blog where I talk about ways of helping our kids with their speech. Hopefully it may give any added support you might find helpful.

    good luck!

    Heidi
    http://mommyspeechtherapy.com/


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

