Tattoos and Crushes

I realized yesterday that I think tattoos are hot.  No, wait, bear with me here.  It was sort of like an epiphany the way it hit me.  It crept up on me and now I’m surprised by it.  I know you’re either thinking “bit slow on the uptake there Cláreen, I figured that out years ago” or else “ew, you must be sick in the head love…”

I don’t have any tattoos but I’ve always been fascinated by them.  I’ve been thinking about what tattoo I want for over ten years now.  I still can’t decide.  I thought they were pretty…artwork…if done the way I like them.  I’m not saying I like every tattoo, just good ones.   I know that’s cleared things up for you 🙂  I always appreciated the work that goes into them but I never realized that I thought of them as sexy.  Which is stupid AND obvious.  Because I knew I drooled over this picture…

Freddie Ljungberg

Yet I knew that I’ve never found Freddie Ljungberg in the least bit attractive before.  See that panther.   Mr. Claire has that on his arm.  I love it.  He also has a celtic cross on his shoulder and mine and the kid’s names on his back.  I love all of his tattoos.   He’s talking about his next one.  If he started going mad and wanted a tattoo vest thing, I’d be like hell no but I don’t think he would anyway.  Like me he appreciates the beauty and work of something like that but he doesn’t want it on himself.    I asked him to get one on the inside of his arm next time (I have a thing for his arms)  and he said he would get one on his bicep instead (I have a thing for his biceps) and that I could pick what he got.  That might be a mistake 🙂

Um…I just felt like adding this one…

I spent ages today looking at tattoo galleries (for me) trying to find something that made me want to run to a tattoo parlour like five minutes ago.  But I didn’t and I probably won’t ever because I am terrified I won’t be able to handle the pain.  Mr. Claire reckons I wouldn’t sit there and let them do it.  “But I gave birth before.  Twice!”  He just chuckles to himself.  “Okay hon.”  That scares the crap outta me.  My mother and my grandmother would probably give me a bit of an earful about it even if I did.

But I’ve really always wanted one.  When I was aroud 14-16, I wanted a shamrock, L.F.C., my name, stars, a ying-yang symbol, a butterfly, a flower (lily/orchid/rose), even a freaking unicorn.  I’d still quite like a shamrock though, and maybe a star or two…a butterfly would be cute…my children’s names would be sweet…see how I still dither about it?  I saw a pretty “tramp stamp” (who comes up with these names?) that had butterflies AND shamrocks today but I wouldn’t get one on my back.  If I get a tattoo, I want to be able to see it!

Enough about that, back to me thinking tattoos are hot.  I get crushes.  I admit it.  I’m fully grown.  Have two children.  Yet I still get crushes.  But when I say I have a crush, it just means that I like to look at them, a lot…see LL Cool J photo above 🙂  Always on famous people though.  Which is handy because they’re always on that box we like to call a telly.  I have this thing where I don’t think much of a famous person, then I see them in a t-shirt or something.  They have a tattoo and I’m like *wipes drool* hmm, they are not so bad after all…

Mr.Claire thinks it’s funny, especially because I have a bit of wierd taste in men.  I mean I like obvious people such as Johnny Depp (of course)…but then I also have a crush on Ricky Wilson from the Kaiser Chiefs (love that band btw) even though I have no idea if he has any tattoos and I have a long term crush on Tom Selleck 🙂  I could let you in on some really embarrassing crushes but I’ve waffled about nothing for too long today!  I’m pretty sure I’m too old to be getting crushes…isn’t that type of thing supposed to stop when you’re a teenager?  NOW I understand why my mother always had a Robbie Williams poster up in our kitchen when I was a kid…well, sort of understand….:)

23 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Michael said,

    I have tats on my arms http://slightlymordant.com/blog/2007/10/31/tattoo/tattoos-fake-and-real/

    I spent hours picking each one, never regretted them and plan on more some day.

  2. 2

    clairec23 said,

    Ah, don’t tell me that, don’t want to be crushing on a fellow blogger 😉

    Seriously, I love when people tell me they took their time and don’t regret them. I think I’ve taken too much time…I just can’t choose. I’m also afraid of it getting infected because I’ve seen a couple of people with infected ones…sick.

    What was the pain like?

  3. 3

    bluesleepy said,

    Ooooooooooo I love the Kaiser Chiefs!! “Ruby” was my favorite song this summer while we were driving across country. And now that I have been thinking about it, I have it stuck in my head. ;o)

    I have a tattoo on my lower back. Now, wait, before you sigh and roll your eyes, I got mine before every female under the age of 25 got one there. I was 22 and in college, and one day my roommate came home from classes and said, “Let’s go get a tattoo!!!” We’d thought about it before, but hadn’t done any research or anything on it. So we cornered my ex into driving us to a tattoo parlor, and 90 minutes later I was the proud owner of a moon & star tattoo. I love my tat, wouldn’t NOT have one, but I am glad I have it in a hidden area so I can choose to show it or not. The only thing I would change about it would be to NOT PICK AT IT. There are faint spots in my tat because I picked.

  4. 4

    clairec23 said,

    The Kaiser Chiefs are one of my favourite bands. We changed the word Ruby to Izzy and used to sing it to our daughter when she cried. Even my son sings it to her and she loves the Kaiser Chiefs now 🙂

    Moon & star sounds really pretty. There is a bit of an overload of people getting it done there isn’t there 🙂 I want to be able to say that…”I love that my tat” lol Ah, yes, not picking at it sounds like good advice, I had to keep slapping Mr. Claire’s hand away when he got his last one, he wouldn’t leave it alone. I would definitely want one that I could cover up although I sort of like the idea of getting one of my wrist.

    Bluesleep, honestly, what was the pain like? I’m really scared that I’ll get half an outline done and won’t be able to take anymore!!

  5. 5

    bluesleepy said,

    I didn’t find it to be all that bad. It felt like a pin scraping across my skin much of the time. It was only a few minutes out of the 90 it took that I found it painful. And even then, it was just a few minutes here and a few minutes there.

    I wussed out when I was in labor and got the epidural. But I could handle the pain of the tattoo. It makes no sense to me, but there you have it! ;o)

  6. 6

    clairec23 said,

    I actually wussed out of getting an epidural 😀

    People have told me that the back is one of the less painful places to get it. Is yours coloured in? 90 minutes sounds so long to be stabbed with something 😉

    You’re making me feel like I could do it now! All I need is the perfect tattoo and um…a location and I’m all set!

  7. 7

    bluesleepy said,

    Mine is all black. Or blue. Or whatever dark ink is the traditional color to use. Black, I think, but it fades to dark dark navy blue. You can see it HERE, though that is a terrible photo of it. (I’m the one on the right.) You can’t really tell, but there’s a pattern inside the moon. I personally am not fond of colored tattoos. All colors fade more quickly than the black, and they all fade at different rates. That said, I admire colored tattoos on other people. It’s just not for me.

    It took my tattoo artist 90 minutes because he took his time. My roommate’s tattoo, though more complex, only took her artist 45 minutes. Hers was all black too. And no, that isn’t my roommate’s backside in the photo — it’s actually my best friend’s. She loved my tat so much she got one of her own. ;o)

    You wussed out of the epidural?? Damn, woman. Just thinking of the pain Iw was in makes me want to go for an epidural right now! But then I was two weeks late and had to be induced, so my labor was being medically augmented. Oweeeeeeeeeeeeee!

  8. 8

    clairec23 said,

    Ouch! You should read about my birthing experiences on my blog, my second one came out so fast I didn’t make it to the hospital lol

    The colours do fade quite a bit, some people get them done over again. Thanks for showing me your tattoo! I wanted to ask you could I see it but I didn’t know if that would be rude 😉 I like it, I can see the star more clearly on your friends one but I prefer the filled in moon on yours. I can’t believe you have matching tats!!

    It’s not too big either, I would want something small myself, not too…all over me! It looks nice on your back…but I would like something that I can see…at least for my first one 😉

  9. 9

    bluesleepy said,

    Eventually I will get Kurt to take a better photo of my tat. That’s a REALLY old photo, and it’s poor quality. Plus I want to see what it looks like 6 years later. ;o)

    OK it’s off to bed with me — 2:15am here, and I need my beauty sleep!

  10. 10

    clairec23 said,

    lol yeah I suppose you must be curious! Night and take care. Good morning too ‘cos it’s only 7:15am here 🙂

  11. 11

    bluesleepy said,

    Ahem… before I go…. here’s a good article on Mac n’ Cheese. The second photo is what most American kids fixate on. It’s good stuff… but like I said, I like the homemade baked version better. AWESOME comfort food.

  12. 12

    bluesleepy said,

    Gahhh I messed up the link. And now I am spamming YOUR comments. ;o) Try this Mac N’ Cheese

  13. 13

    clairec23 said,

    Feel free to take over as much as you like lol Thanks for the link! I think I would really like that, I love pasta and cheese and comfort food!

  14. 14

    cardiogirl said,

    Damn blue, I got here super late to the party! (You were here at 2:30 am, it’s already 9:04 am. I am late!

    I think you both could take one guess and be correct as to whether I have a tattoo or not.

    I LOVED this line today, Claire: “and I’m like *wipes drool* hmm, they are not so bad after all.”

  15. 15

    clairec23 said,

    I can’t believe that was seven hours ago…today is flying in!

    Ah Cardiogirl, I was really, truely praying in my head that you would turn around and surprise us all. That would have been class!

    That line…tis true! I inserted that first photo and just looked at it for a while…*wipes drool once again* I’m thinking I really need to get out more 😉

  16. 16

    cardiogirl said,

    You know, this thought just popped into my head. If I ever *did* get a tattoo, I’d have to get one of a Converse low top.

    But I can live with the low top on my site for now.

  17. 17

    clairec23 said,

    Oh yeah you definitely would have to but then you’d have to decide what colour…I’d be thrilled if you wrote a post one day about how you got a Converse low top tattooed on your arse 😀 I know that’s asking for a lot but ya never know 😉 Maybe someday it will be your April Fool’s post!

  18. 18

    MilitaryMom said,

    Thanks for visiting my blog! How did you happen across it?
    I have tattoos myself (3), and I know all about the whole looking through the galleries thing, I spent tons of time looking for mine. I have 3 butterflies on my hip with my kids initials on them, 1 butterfly on my ankle, and a bunch of flowers on my mid thigh. I love them all. I think tattoos are sexy also, and I would love it if my hubby would get one, but he doesn’t want one. Are you living in Ireland? I like your blog, and I’ll be back!

  19. 19

    clairec23 said,

    Most likely from Cardiogirl’s blog 🙂 It’s a pain looking through so many tattoos, maybe there’s just too much choice…

    Did the hip one hurt? I’m way too focused on the pain right now! I would love one on the hip but everyone says that’s a bad place for a first tattoo. I like the idea of the butterflies and the initials. I never even thought of getting one on my leg! That’s such a pity that your hubby doesn’t want one…I’m trying to think of some way you can persuade him now 🙂

    Yep, living in Ireland and thank you. 🙂

  20. 20

    melbs1969 said,

    omg…that first guy…freddie whatshisname…who is he? i want him! i need him! i love him! i’m drooling all over my laptop.

  21. 21

    clairec23 said,

    lmao @ mel! That is Freddie Ljungberg. He’s a footballer on the English team, Arsenal. I’m glad somebody else appreciates that pic 😉

  22. 22

    MilitaryMom said,

    It did hurt, but not that bad. I love it! It’s very feminine and pretty, all of them are. I am very lucky to have a super talented friend who is a tattoo artist. So I get them pretty and cheap. Very nice to meet you!

  23. 23

    clairec23 said,

    Okay, I’m building up my courage based on the good comments here…painwise 🙂 You are lucky, I’m terrifed that I’ll end up with a scruffy dodgy tatooist who makes a mistake! I’d love something pretty but anytime I’ve looked in the actual tattoo parlours, I haven’t seen anything that’s “right”. I might have to bring in my own pic of something. Anyway, I’m getting excited now, woo!

    Nice to meet you too 😉


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

