Topsy Turvy Town

I think that was a Bosco song.  Correct me if I’m wrong.  In case you don’t know Bosco was an obnoxious little puppet that lived in a box and always visited the zoo.  Kids program over here years ago.  I loved it and it came out on dvd last year or the year before.  Class.  He’s (it?) probably the reason I’m the way I am 🙂

 Anyway, I’m over earlier’s little mishap.  Not really but I’m able to write a sentence without swearing so that’s progress mate. 

So, a while ago, I turned on my laptop, ready to face blogland yet again.  It started running fine until it got to the desktop.   Which was upside down.  I sat there for a couple of moments wondering if I was going mad or if somehow my son had manged to twist the screen upside down.  It does twist but not that far.  I restarted the computer.  Same thing again.  Desktop was now upside down land.  W.T.F…?

If Mr. Claire had been here, I would have blamed him in an instant.  Have you ever downloaded those practical joke things that make the mouse go haywire when someone tries to use it and stupid stuff like that?  I used to do that on my old boss.  He thought computers were dangerous as it was without me wrecking his head but it was so funny watching him get freaked out about it.  He could take a joke.  I can’t.  But Mr. Claire was in work so it couldn’t have been down to him. 

I did a system restore thingymabob back to yesterday and everything is okay now, obviously, since I’m writing a post.  But I still don’t know what happened.  Can anyone tell me?  I didn’t even know you could get the desktop to go upside down.  It was so freaky trying to click things off the screen.  Anyway, I want to know how to do it again so I can freak Mr. Claire out next time he uses the laptop.  Things like that baffle him and I don’t really have a whole lot to do since NaNoWriMo ended and my kids went for a nap.  What can I say, I’m easily amused.

Oh, and The Late Late Toy Show is not worth a whole post so I’ll add a little end note here.  The Late Late Show is a longstanding talk show over here that’s on every Friday Night.  It was hosted by Gay Byrne for years and now Pat Kenny has taken over.  Anyway, if you’re a kid it’s the second most boring programme in the universe.  (Live at Three was the worst by far).  But, there is one day every year where they devote the entire show to toys.  Then, it is the best show in the world.  So last Friday was that day (or night). 

The repeat is always on a Sunday afternoon and as I missed the live version, I have the repeat on now.  It’s such a load of crap now.  It’s so….boring.  There’s no atmosphere.  Sure, there’s lots of toys and Christmassy stuff but there’s no happy feeling.  Even my kids got bored and fell asleep rather than watch it.  When I was a kid, it was the best thing in the world.  You’d see all of these lucky kids that were mostly incredibly posh.  There’s always one incredibly common token kid.  They (and sometimes celebrities) would get to test out toys and go on the show and talk about them.  There would be kids dancing and singing and the audience would get lots of free toys.  The catchphrase for the Late Late Show is – “There’s one for everyone in the audience.”  The highlight of this year’s show was a kid saying they didn’t like a boy doll because he had a “you-know-what.”  *Sigh*

The toys are getting better, but it’s still so boring.  I look forward to this every year and I’ll admit, it’s been lacking in the last few years but there’s always some redeeming feature.  Like that little boy who sang “Shout” and was surprised by Girls Aloud behind him.  He was the cutest child.  He made me cry and I still have no idea why.  Can’t find a clip of that unfortunately.  Somethings were as expected.  Pat Kenny wearing a ridiculously ugly jumper.  Toys not working.  Kids getting cheeky.  “You DON’T do it like that!”   Dustin stealing the show…Gerrup outta that!

Maybe I’m just getting too old to enjoy it anymore. 🙂

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    bluesleepy said,

    Heh. Oprah does a show every year (do you people get Oprah?? I’m so clueless. If not, she’s a talk show host. And I am just about the only American who doesn’t like her) where she talks about her favorite things, and gives them out to her audience. Some of the stuff is really expensive, so it’s pretty cool. But I hate to watch those shows because dammit why don’t I get any of that?! LOL

    PS — I’ve always wondered how come it’s called a “jumper” over there. See, we call it a “sweater,” and a “jumper” to us is a sleeveless dress you wear over a blouse, like women used to do all the time in the 90s. Amazing, isn’t it, how you and I speak the same language, yet the slang is a little different!! 😉

  2. 2

    clairec23 said,

    A sleeveless dress would be a pinafore probably. At least the school uniform I had when I was a kid was like that and it was either called a tunic or a pinafore. I’d just call it a dress to be honest with you 🙂 I’ve no idea why it’s called a jumper at all. A sweater would probably be more appropriate 🙂 I’m going to have to think of a slang word every day that you don’t use!

    Yes, we do get Oprah, no, we don’t like her either! She’s a little bit scary…I don’t get why she has such a golden touch on books. They say that if she mentions a book, it sells every copy.

    This show gives out free stuff every single week. The tickets are free but you can never get any because there is a queue!

  3. 3

    bluesleepy said,

    Heh. When I see the “Oprah’s Book Club” seal on a book, it makes me want to NOT buy it!! 😀

  4. 4

    clairec23 said,

    You are sooooo like me 😉

  5. 5

    bluesleepy said,

    OMG Claire — WordPress ALMOST ate my entry just now. ALMOST!! It’s lucky it autosaved me right there at the end or I was gonna have a hissy fit!! 😀

    All better now. WHEW.

  6. 6

    clairec23 said,

    hehe, close one! I’m telling ya, you’d never get over it. On my deathbed I’m going to be cursing the time I’ve wasted redong posts on wordpress. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

