Depressing News

Monday’s here once again.  I had so many things I wanted to talk about yesterday but I’ve forgotten them all today.  Except, I’m shitting a brick a little bit because I gave my NaNoWriMo novel to somebody to read.  My son deleted a chapter and I needed a bit of help with that and the whole thing to be honest and somebody offered to give me a hand.  I’ve never “given” somebody my stuff to read so I’m feeling more than a little bit sick today.  I feel the need to share my pain. 

But in the grand scale of things, that really isn’t important.  The newspaper made me cry again yesterday.  There was a time when Mr. Claire wouldn’t buy me newspapers or else he w0uld read them first and take out any sad stories.  He was sick of seeing me sob for like an hour if I read something sad.   If anything happens to children or animals, that’s it, I’m horrified and upset for the day.  It’s a bit ridiculous really, you never see somebody reading a newspaper on a bus and bursting into tears.

So, yesterday’s story that made me cry was about a funeral.  A whole family wiped out.  A procession of tiny white coffins.  It really got to me.  Around two or three weeks ago, there was a fire at a house.  A couple and their five children died.  Within a couple of days, it became apparent that it wasn’t an accident.  They say that the father trapped his family into a room and set the house on fire.  The mother was pregnant and two of the children were under the age of two.  The older children were most certainly old enough to know what was happening to them, old enough to know what their daddy was doing to them.

The story at the time got to me, but seeing those little coffins was just horrible.  I can’t even imagine how the rest of their family and friends must be feeling.  This type of story used to be unbelieveable in the past.  But now it’s happening more and more often.  I don’t understand it.  I don’t understand what drives a person to hurt their own families like that.  There are usually two excuses when a parent murders their child and kills themselves too.  One is that the mother was extremely depressed and the other is that the father wanted to hurt the mother or punish her in some way.  I’m not saying that’s exactly the reasons, just that it is what people say to try and understand what has happened.

I can’t relate to it at all.  I’ve been depressed.  I had post natal depression.  But I’ve never once considered hurting my babies and I’ve certainly never thought of hurting them to punish their father.  It scares me how easily it seems to be happening.  Not long ago, this was unheard of, now we’re hearing similar stories a couple of times a year.   I just don’t know how things can get so bad.  Surely, there has to be some sign that there is something wrong, surely there has to be something that somebody could do to stop it from happening.  I hate the thought that there is nothing we can do to stop it.  I hate that this is yet another one of those stories that we seem to be hearing more often.  There is help out there, people need to use that help when life gets hard or when they find it hard to cope with things.  Sorry for the depressing post…I couldn’t get past that story until I talked about it and Mr. Claire wasn’t around to depress so I’m laying it on you lot.  😦

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    AntiBarbie said,

    What scares me the most are those stories about all these husbands and boyfriends who are running around killing their pregnant wives/girlfriends who are carrying their first child. A lot of times women get cheated on or left while pregnant because their ‘partner’ doesn’t want to grow a pair and deal with being a parent but to wipe someone from off the face of the planet because you want to live out your days as Peter Pan, is just insane! Not to mention that I think being a parent beats spending my life in prison.

    What the heck is wrong with people these days?!

  2. 2

    bluesleepy said,

    Hey, I’ve been wondering the same thing. I hadn’t heard about this last case (I am woefully ignorant about international news), but it’s such a sad thing. And we keep having cases like this over here in the US. I can’t imagine hurting one’s kids; I really can’t. We had a case when I lived in Washington where this woman ignored her one kid… and ignored the kid to death! No kidding; the kid died in his crib (he was not quite 2), and she hid the body so she wouldn’t get in trouble. It wasn’t till her husband returned home from a deployment (he was in the Navy too) that someone noticed the baby was gone.

    I mean, I know she was depressed and all, but I still can’t fathom it. I had a bit of post partum depression, but for me it just felt like I was totally disconnected from myself. I know it’s different for everyone; I just can’t imagine hurting my kids.

    Anyhoooooooo, I hope I didn’t make you cry again. *HUGS*

  3. 3

    clairec23 said,

    There are way too many fucked up people in this world, for real. Stories that really creep me out are when both parents work together to hurt a child. The fact that two people like that find each other is so scary to me.

    I find it hard to fathom that nobody missed the child or that none of the neighbours heard the child screaming. That’s a horrible story…

    It’s okay blue, it’s just that I always think of my own kids when I hear about something happening to somebody elses.

  4. 4

    bluesleepy said,

    Well, the husband was in the Navy, and the wife had just moved to Washington right before the husband got home. So she didn’t know anyone there (which probably added to her depression), and I guess no one knew how many kids she had. She just kept the kids in their room while she played computer games.

    Also I think people’s priorities get mucked up. There was a case of two young sailors who were arrested on child abuse charges for living their not-quite-1-year-old alone in his crib all day because they supposedly couldn’t afford childcare. Yet they had a big-screen tv and big cars and other luxury items they couldn’t afford. They were both 19, so maybe their youth had something to do with it. I can’t understand it because the Navy provides childcare, and the rates are based on your income. There’s no excuse for stupidity like that.

  5. 5

    melbs1969 said,

    just like you said…way too many fucked up people! and, everything that is going on in the world, it isn’t helping matters much.
    it’s a sad fact of life…these crazy people. it happens way too much, here in detroit, michigan. dads shooting the woman and her kids, then shooting himself. fire, drowning, etc…it’s horrible. it always makes me so sad, too. that’s why i don’t watch the news or read the papers…i can’t stand hearing about it. i’m sorry for that family! it’s awful! those little lives and all the living that they never had a chance to do! poor babies…poor mommy…asshole father!

  6. 6

    clairec23 said,

    Blue – that is so sick. I got pregnant when I was 20 and from the day I found out every penny I had went towards my baby. I didn’t care about myself anymore. So I’m not going to let them use their age as an excuse 😉 I really don’t understand that, especially as they had help, childcare can cost more than rent over here. They obviously weren’t ready to stop being selfish and take of their responsibilities.

    Mel – the father was meant to be a really controlling person (according to his neighbours but then again at first they said he tried to save the family until they heard he started the fire) It scares me to think that you never truely know people and what they are capable of!

  7. 7

    It is incomprehensible to me 😦

  8. 8

    MilitaryMom said,

    I think that things like tis have always happened, but the media just reports it al lot more now. It sickens me how people trat their kids and the horrible things people do to each other. Maybe someday we’ll realize just how messed up we are as a people, but how to fix it?

  9. 9

    clairec23 said,

    Maybe your right MilitaryMom, maybe we just hear about it a lot more now. I can’t imagine hurting somebody like that, I don’t think I could bear it. I hope that we do find a way to fix ourselves, find out how these things happen in the first place and what we can do to prevent it from happening again.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

